Graduate Scholarships | Department of Political Science

Graduate Scholarships

Steven C. Poe Scholarship

The Steven C. Poe Scholarship honors the memory of the late Professor Steve Poe, a world-renowned expert in human rights and dedicated teacher.

Strong preference will be given to those students who are studying human rights in domestic or international politics or who are political science pre-law majors with an interest in human rights. To be eligible for consideration, an applicant for the Scholarship must possess the following characteristics:

  • Will have completed 18 graduate hours in political science at the University of North Texas with a GPA of at least 3.75.

To apply for this scholarship, please fill out this form and return it to the Department of Political Science by March 1st, 2022.

All decisions regarding the size, the distribution of undergraduate and graduate awards, and the number of scholarship awards made from this fund shall rest with the Committee on Grants and Awards in the Political Science department.

The Charldean Newell Graduate Political Science Scholarship

A fund to honor Dr. Charldean Newell, and to provide scholarships for graduate students in American Government and Politics, including Public Law and Public Policy, at the University.

The McAlister Society Fund

To honor Dr. Sam McAlister, chairman of the political science department at the University for over 30 years. The purpose of the fund is to support qualified incoming graduate students.

The C. Neal and Carol Tate PhD Fund for Political Science

A fund to honor Dr. C. Neal Tate, faculty member in the Department of Political Science and Dean of the Graduate School, and Mrs. Carol Tate. The purpose of the fund is to support qualified graduate students.

The Bruzzy Westheimer Graduate Fellowship in Human Security


The purpose of the fellowship is to support outstanding graduate students focusing on human security issues during their graduate studies. This fellowship will be awarded to applicants prepared to commit to graduate studies on a full-time basis. No awardee may work more than twenty (20) hours per week, including work as a teaching fellow, a research assistant, or in the College Work study Program (or it successor). For selection purposes, the selection committee shall consider the following information from each applicant:

Applications will be accepted from graduate students enrolled at, or applying to, the University of North Texas in any discipline, but pursuing research and/or scholarly activities related to human security. Graduate students with majors housed in CLASS will be given first priority

  • Academic potential for excellence as evidenced by cumulative GPA for the 60 hours preceding application
  • Publications, research, scholarly presentations or serving as a teaching assistant, research assistant, or teaching fellow related to issues related to human security
  • A minimum of two letters of recommendation attesting to the integrity and professional/academic potential of the applicant in the area of human security
  • Two page essay describing work in Human Security
  • Applications for renewal of awards from the fund will be treated the same as first-time applicants, with the Faculty Council having final approval beyond the criteria listed above

Academic Achievement Scholarship (AAS): This scholarship is available to new doctoral and master's students for the first year of study with a possible 1 year renewal. Recipients of this competitive scholarship receive $1000 per academic year- $500 in the Fall and $500 in the Spring and may be eligible for in-state tuition rates. Learn more and apply here.

Externally Funded Doctoral Students Scholarship: This scholarship is available to eligible doctoral students who demonstrate academic excellence. Recipients receive $1,000 per academic year - $500 in the Fall and $500 in the Spring - and may be eligible for in-state tuition rates. Students must provide proof of academic support of $10,000 or more from an institution outside of UNT to be considered for the award. Learn more and apply here.

Peace Studies Scholarships

The Willingham Peace Studies Scholarship

Awards will normally be made for at least $1,000 for a period of 2-3 years, depending on student performance and availability of funds.

To be eligible for consideration, an applicant for the Scholarship must meet the following criteria:

  • Meet the minimum entrance and continuing academic performance standards of the department of Political Science in effect at the time of any award;
  • Enroll as a full-time graduate student in Political Science with a declared preference for peace studies;
  • Maintain a minimum 3.5 GPA;
  • Preference will be given to entering students (students must have earned no more than 9 SCH credits at the graduate level) in either the Master's or PhD program in political science.

Oscar Arias Peace Studies Scholarship

Established by a donation from Nobel Peace Laureate and former President of Costa Rica, the Oscar Arias Peace Studies Scholarship is intended for graduate or undergraduate students in Political Science who have a special emphasis on peace studies.

Recipients should meet minimum academic standards of the Department of Political Science, maintain full-time enrollment at the University, unless they have fewer than twice the number of semester hours required to be full-time remaining in their degree program, and enroll as a full-time student in Political Science at the University, with the intention of focusing on Peace Studies; in the event no applicant possesses this characteristic, then students enrolling full-time in Political Science at the University will be eligible for consideration.

To apply for a Peace Studies scholarship, print out a copy of the Peace Studies Scholarship Application and return the completed packet to Dr. David Mason in Wooten Hall, Room 125.

For University-wide funding, please see Student Financial Aid and Scholarships.

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 42,000 students.

Apply now