John Ishiyama | Department of Political Science

John Ishiyama

Department Chair and Professor
Wooten Hall 166
Curriculum Vitae: Download CV


  • Comparative Politics: democratization and political parties in post communist Russian, European, Eurasian and African (especially Ethiopian) politics, ethnic conflict and ethnic politics, the scholarship of teaching and learning.
  • Was editor in chief of the American Political Science Review 2012-2016. Was principal investigator, along with Joseph Oppong, for the National Science Foundation-Research Experience for Undergraduates (NSF-REU) grant "UNT Civil Conflict Management and Peace Science" that funds one of only a few NSF-REU political science sites in the country, and he was Director of that program (2010-2020).
  • Currently President of the American Political Science Association and Piper Professor of Texas

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 42,000 students.

Apply now