Hire a UNT Ph.D. | Department of Political Science

Hire a UNT Ph.D.


Yen-Hsin Chen - vita

  • Areas of Interest: Comparative politics, international relations, Chinese politics, protest
  • Dissertation: Protests in China: Why and Which Chinese People Go to the Streets
  • Committee: T. David Mason (co-Chair), Phil Paolino (co-Chair), Ko Maeda, and John Ishiyama
  • Email: Yen-HsinChen@my.unt.edu
Mustafa Kirisci - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Civil wars, terrorism, nonviolent movements, state repression
  • Dissertation: Life Cycle of Terrorist Groups: When Terror Groups Emerge and Exit​
  • Committee: T. David Mason (chair), Michael Greig, Jacqueline H.R. DeMeritt, Paul Hensel.
  • Email: MustafaKirisci@my.unt.edu
Christopher Pace - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Comparative politics, international relations, ethnic conflict, international conflict
  • Dissertation: Nations at War: The Effects of International Threat on State-Ethnic Group Relations
  • Committee: Andrew J. Enterline (co-Chair), John Ishiyama (co-Chair), Jacqueline DeMeritt, J. Michael Greig
  • Email: ChristopherPace2@my.unt.edu
  • Website: https://sites.google.com/site/chrisepace/
Anna Pechenina - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Comparative politics, political institutions, political culture, political economy, post-Soviet states
  • Dissertation: Money is Power: Politics of Fiscal Federalism in Russia
  • Committee: John Ishiyama (Chair), Marijke Breuning, Ko Maeda, T. David Mason
  • Email: AnnaPechenina@gmail.com
Brandon Stewart - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Ethnic politics, political violence, voting behavior
  • Dissertation: Crossing Over: Ethnic Parties, Electoral Politics, and Ethnic Violence
  • Committee: Idean Salehyan (chair), Jacqueline DeMeritt, John Ishiyama, and Jae-Jae Spoon (University of Pittsburgh Political Science)
  • Email: BrandonStewart4@my.unt.edu
Michael Widmeier - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Comparative politics, international relations, civil war, rebel organization, causes and consequences of refugees, violence against civilians
  • Dissertation: Where Do They Come From, and Where Do They Go? Rebel Group Origins and the Dynamics of Civil War
  • Committee: T. David Mason (co-Chair), Idean Salehyan (co-Chair), Jacqueline DeMeritt, and John Ishiyama
  • Email: MichaelWidmeier@my.unt.edu


Ayal K. Feinberg - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Diasporas, ethnic politics, hate crimes, anti-semitism, Middle Eastern politics, Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
  • Dissertation: How Homeland Violence Creates Diaspora Insecurity​
  • Committee: Marijke Breuning (chair), Regina Branton, J. Michael Greig, and John Ishiyama
  • Email: AyalFeinberg@my.unt.edu
  • Website: www.ayalfeinberg.com
Melissa Martinez - vita
  • Areas of Interest: International relations, comparative politics, human rights, repression, violent non-state actors
  • Dissertation: Reacting to What? Violent Non-State Organizations, Naming and Shaming, and Human Rights Violations
  • Committee: Jacqueline DeMeritt (co-chair), Marijke Breuning (co-chair), Glen Biglaiser, John Ishiyama
  • Email: MelissaMartinez10@my.unt.edu
  • Website: melissamartinez01.wordpress.com
Melda Ozsut - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Civil conflict, conflict resolution, international political economy
  • Dissertation: Changing Dynamics in Rentier States: Disaggregated Analyses of Conflict
  • Committee: J. Michael Greig (chair), Glen Biglaiser, Jacqueline DeMeritt, T. David Mason
  • Email: MeldaOzsut@my.unt.edu
Lynsey Parsons - vita
  • Areas of Interest: International Relations, Comparative Politics, Origins of Conflict, Indigenous/Minority Politics, Foreign Policy in Small States, Arms Control, Refugee Issues
  • Dissertation: The Long-Term Effects of Exclusion on Regime Stability
  • Committee: J. Michael Greig (Chair), Paul R. Hensel, Valerie Martinez-Ebers, and Lisa Henry (UNT Anthropology)
  • Email: LynseyParsons@my.unt.edu


Rodney W. Gill - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Nietzche's politics; counter-enlightenment thought; politics and religion; gender, sex, and law
  • Dissertation: From Judaism to Liberalism and Beyond: Nietzche on the Religious Ancestors of Modern Liberalism
  • Committee: Richard S. Ruderman (Chair), Steven P. Forde, Matthew Eshbaugh-Soha, and Martin Yaffee (UNT Philosophy)
  • Email: RodneyGill@my.unt.edu
Evan M. Lowe - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Classical political philosophy, modern political philosophy, politics of modern science, American political thought, American Presidency
  • Dissertation: Political Judgment and Rule in Francis Bacon's New Atlantis
  • Committee: Richard S. Ruderman (Chair), Steven P. Forde, Matthew Eshbaugh-Soha and Martin Yaffee (UNT Philosophy)
  • Email: EvanLowe@my.unt.edu
  • Website: evanmlowe.weebly.com
Elliot Thomas Montagano - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Modern political philosophy, counter-Enlightenment thought, religion and politics, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Censorship, Education and Politics
  • Dissertation: Rousseau and the Problem of Censorship: Freedom, Virtue, and the Education of the Citizen
  • Committee: Steven P. Forde (Chair), Richard Ruderman, Elizabeth Oldmixon, Martin Yaffe (UNT Philosophy)
  • Email: ElliotMontagano@my.unt.edu
Nam D. Nguyen - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Political Philosophy (Ancient to Post-Modern), Ancient Greek political thought, American political thought, U.S. Congress, religion and politics, political knowledge, social capital
  • Dissertation: The Role of Theology and Human Rule in Plato's Laws
  • Committee: Steven P. Forde (Chair), Richard Ruderman, Martin Yaffe (UNT Philosophy), and David Sweet (University of Dallas)
  • Email: namnguyen3@my.unt.edu
Ronald J. McGauvran - vita
  • Areas of Interest: Causes and consequences of economic inequality, race/ethnicity and inequality, comparative economic inequality, executive decision making
  • Dissertation: Political Repercussions of Income Inequality in an American State
  • Committee: Regina P. Branton (chair), Tony E. Carey Jr., Valerie Martinez-Ebers, Phil Paolino
  • Email: RonaldMcgauvran@my.unt.edu
  • Website: ronaldjmcgauvran.weebly.com

Placement Record

Placement Director - Dr. Jacqueline DeMeritt - jdemeritt@unt.edu

PDF icon KirisciCV.pdf71.78 KB
PDF icon Stewart CV 112017.pdf140.22 KB

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 38,000 students.

Apply now