Undergraduate Awards & Scholarships | Department of Political Science

Undergraduate Awards & Scholarships


The Department will select yearly winners for each award in February. The recipient must have completed at least 9 hours in Political Science and have at least a 3.0 GPA. The value of the awards is between $500‐$1500.

Outstanding Undergraduate Student in Political Science Award
‐Awarded to a student who has excelled both in and out of the classroom. The award is typically given to a graduating senior.

Awards for Outstanding Students in Various Sub‐Fields
‐Four awards will be given, one in each sub‐field, to a student who has excelled in the field of American Politics, Comparative Politics, International Relations, or Political Theory.

Clovis C. Morrisson Award for the Best Pre‐Law Student
‐Awarded to a junior who has excelled in the field of Pre‐Law.

In addition to these awards, the Department will present an Award for the Best Undergraduate Paper in Political Science each year. Faculty will submit nominations of papers will be considered by February 15th.


The Department of Political Science offers a number of competitive scholarships for its students, many of which honor former UNT faculty or students. Please select a menu item on the left hand side of this page for more information.

All Political Science majors who have a minimum 3.0 GPA in the major and have completed 9 credit hours in Political Science are eligible to apply. The Department selects yearly winners for each scholarship after an early March deadline. The value of these scholarships is between $500-$1500.

To apply for a scholarship, please fill out this form and return it to the Department of Political Science by February 15th, 2024

For additional undergraduate scholarship opportunities, visit UNT's Student Financial Aid and Scholarships webpage or browse one or two detailed lists of scholarships.

For scholarship committee timeline, please click here.