Peace Studies Scholarships | Department of Political Science

We need your help to make UNT's websites better. Fill out this 1-minute survey →

Peace Studies Scholarships

Oscar Arias Peace Studies Fund
Established by a donation from Nobel Peace Laureate and former President of Costa Rica, the Oscar Arias Peace Studies Scholarship is intended for graduate or undergraduate students in Political Science who have a special emphasis on peace studies. Recipients should meet minimum academic standards of the Department of Political Science, maintain full-time enrollment at the University, unless they have fewer than twice the number of semester hours required to be full-time remaining in their degree program, and enroll as a full-time student in Political Science at the University, with the intention of focusing on Peace Studies; in the event no applicant possesses this characteristic, then students enrolling full-time in Political Science at the University will be eligible for consideration.

The Robert C. Wahrmund Peace Studies Fund
The Robert C. Wahrmund Peace Studies Scholarship was established with a generous donation from the Trustees of the former Quakerland Friends Community. The Wahrmund Scholarship fund provides two scholarships of $500 each to freshmen or sophomores with a commitment to earning a Peace Studies minor, a Peace Studies certificate, or an International Studies major with an concentration in Peace Studies. Subject to the availability of funds, each year one scholarship will be offered to an in-coming freshman and one to a sophomore. Freshman recipients are eligible for a second year of the scholarship if they are chosen as the recipient of the sophomore scholarship.

Aileen Andrew Peace Internship Fund
The Aileen Andrew Scholarship was established by the Andrew Family Foundation. This Stipend, of up to $1000, is designed to support internships in the field of Peace Studies. Recipients of the stipend should be pursuing an education in Peace Studies at the University of North Texas, have a 3.0 GPA, and have junior standing at the time of the start of the internship.

Clovis and Marilyn Morrisson Peace Studies Fund
The Clovis and Marilyn Morrisson Scholarship honors a former distinguished member of the Political Science Department who was instrumental in the formation of the Peace Studies Program at the University of North Texas. Recipients of this $600 Scholarship should be undergraduate Peace Studies Minors at the University of North Texas or International Studies/Political Science Majors with a concentration in Peace Studies.

Vivian Castleberry Trailblazer Scholarship
We are pleased to announce that the Castleberry Peace Institute is ready to accept applications for our new scholarship, the Vivian Castleberry Trailblazer Scholarship. The Vivian Castleberry Trailblazer scholarship will be awarded to one advanced student each year who is working on peace related projects, human rights work, engaged in applied research/scholarship and similar types of activities that are basically aimed at making the world a better place. The scholarship is for $4000.00 and is for one year. Please click here for an application.

To apply, please visit here and return the completed packet to our main office in Wooten Hall, Room 125or via email to

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 42,000 students.

Apply now